Gibbs Family Tree


» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 ... 760» Next»     » Slide Show

Thanksgiving service: Sir Roger Gibbs

Princess Alexandra, the Hon Lady Ogilvy, was represented by Mrs Meriel Afia at a service of thanksgiving for the life of Sir Roger Gibbs, the businessman and philanthropist who transformed the Wellcome Trust, on Friday March 15, 2019, in St Paul’s Cathedral.

The Very Rev Dr David Ison, dean, officiated, gave the bidding and pronounced the blessing. The Rev James Milne, minor canon and sacrist, led the prayers assisted by Mrs Stephen Squirrell, step-granddaughter, and Lady Mary Adler and Mrs Paul Robinson, goddaughters.

Mr Henry Askew read the lesson: Corinthians xiii, 1-13.

Mrs Emma Farah, niece, read the prologue to The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer, and Sir Edward Cazalet read the poem A Glorious Game, Say We by William Douglas-Home.

The Rev Prebendary Jeremy Crossley, rector, St Margaret, Lothbury, and St Mary, Woolnoth gave the address. Mr Matthew Fleming, nephew, and Sir Brian Williamson paid tribute.

During the service the St Paul’s Cathedral consort, directed by Mr Simon Johnson, organist and assistant director of music, performed and the Cathedral choristers, directed by Mr Andrew Carwood, director of music, sang. Mr William Fox, sub-organist, played the organ.

Among those present were: Lady Gibbs (widow), Mr Julian Gibbs (brother), Mrs Elizabeth Fleming (sister), Mrs Lavinia Gibbs (sister-in-law), Mr and Mrs John Errington, Mr William Lee, Miss Mexico Lee, Mr and Mrs Rupert Harris, Mr Stephen Squirrell, Mrs Matthew Fleming, Mr Paul Robinson, Mr and Mrs Nicholas Roberts, Mr Joel O’Conner, Mr Hugo Gibbs, Mr and Mrs Justin Gibbs, Mrs Emily Fox, Mr and Mrs James Gibbs, Mrs Charles Tremlett, Mr and Mrs Harry Fleming, Mr and Mrs Rupert Fleming, Mr Tom Fleming, Lord and Lady Aldenham with other members of the family.

Also present were: the Marquis of Lothian, Earl and Countess Cairns, Earl Alexander of Tunis, the Earl of Home, the Countess of Clarendon, Viscount Dilhorne, the Bishop of Salisbury, Lord and Lady Ashcombe, Lord and Lady Brabazon of Tara, Lord and Lady Cadogan, Lord de Mauley, Lord and Lady Elton, Lord Fellowes, Lord and Lady Fitzalan Howard, Lord and Lady Faringdon, Lady Howard de Walden, Baroness Manningham-Buller, (chair, The Wellcome Trust), Lord Wrottesley, the Hon Mrs Anthony Montagu, the Hon Simon Eccles, the Hon Jeremy Soames (chairman, Winston Churchill Memorial Trust), the Hon Mrs Tyser, Sir Nicholas and Lady Bacon, Sir Henry Beverley, Professor Sir Leszek Boryziewicz (chairman, Cancer Research UK), Sir William and Lady Castell, Lady Cazalet, Sir Paul Clarke, Lady Corbett, Sir Thomas and Lady Dunne, Sir Robin Errington, Sir Jeremy Farrar (director, The Wellcome Trust), Sir Nicholas and Lady Goodison, Sir John and Lady Gurdon, Lady Hill Wood, Sir John Kemp-Welch, Sir Richard and Lady Kleinwort, Sir Chips Keswick, Lady Kindersley, Sir Peter Middleton, Sir Torquil Norman, Dame Bridget Ogilvie, Sir Charles and Lady Ponsonby, Lady Rankin, Sir Simon Robertson, Sir Hugh and Lady Stevenson, Professor Sir Michael Stratton (director, Wellcome Sanger Institute), Lady Walker, Sir Philip and Lady Wroughton, Lady Williamson, Count and Countess Luca Marenzi.

Mrs Henry Askew, Mrs Anne Allen, Sister Agatha, Mr Michael Bloch QC, and Lady Camila Bingham Bloch, Mr Richard Banks, Mr John Barclay (director, Arundel Castle Cricket Foundation), Mr and Mrs Nicholas Baring, Mr Peter Baring, Mrs Phoebe Berens, Mr and Mrs Oric Basirov, Mr Andrew Bruce, Mr Alan and Lady Caroline Borg, Mrs Marcia Brocklebank, Mrs Didie Bucknall, Mr and Mrs Matthew Chester, Mrs Minnie Churchill, Mr Daniel Corbett, Mr Hugo Cubitt, Mr Charles Dawnay, Mr and Mrs Timothy Dawson, Mrs Julia Dawson, Mr Joss Denison-Pender, Mr and Mrs Peter Denison-Pender, Mr and Mrs James Denison-Pender, Mr and Mrs Robert Dickinson, Mrs Iga Downing, Mr Marc Farah, Maximillian Farah, Miss Serena Fass, Mr and Mrs Thomas Fellowes, Mr Christopher Fildes, Mr and Mrs Roddie Fleming, Miss Hum Fleming, Miss Chloe Fleming, Mrs Sacha Forbes, the Rev John Fowler, Mr Kenneth Friar (managing director, Arsenal Football Club), Mr Sandy Gall, Mr Nathan Gelber, Mr and Mrs Richard Gethin-Jones, Mr Humphrey Gibbs, Professor David Gordon, Mr James Hambro, Jules Hodginson, Mrs Caroline Hoare, Mrs David Ison, Mr and Mrs Malcolm Innes, Mr Patrick Jackson, Mr and Mrs Simon Johnson, Mr Charles Kimmins QC, Mr and Mrs Malcolm Kimmins, Mrs Paul Langtry, Mr Alexander Loehnis, Mr and Mrs Anthony Loehnis, Mrs Merlyn Lowther, Mr Rupert Lycett Green, Mrs Annabel Mackenzie, Mrs Charmaine Mallinckrodt, Mr Philip Mallinckrodt, Mrs Matthew Nickerson, Mrs Annabel Novis, Mrs Lucia Owen, Mr and Mrs Simon Parker-Bowles, Mr and Mrs Nicolas Paravicini, Mr Rupert Pennant-Rea, Mr and Mrs Andrew Pitt, Mr and Mrs Geoffrey Richards, Brigadier and Mrs Johnny Rickett, Mr and Mrs Michael Robarts, Mrs Nicola Rouse, Mr Geoff Rushbrook, Mrs Christina Shand Kydd, Mr Caspar Shand Kydd, Mr and Mrs Julian Sheffield, Miss Victoria Shipton, Mr and Mrs Simon Seward, Mr and Mrs Antony Snow, Mr and Mrs John Standing, Mr and Mrs James Sunley, Professor Tilli Tansey, Mr and Mrs David Tatham, Mr and Mrs Toppo Todhunter, Ms Emily Todhunter, Mr Peter de Vink, Major-General and Mrs Charles Vyvyan, Mrs Christian Ward-Thomas, Mr and Mrs Paul Warwick, Mr and Mrs John Wauchope, Mr Matthew Wellesley-Smith, Mr Jake Wellesley-Smith, Mrs Annie Widlake, Mrs Suzie Williams, Mrs Clare Wilmot-Sitwell, Mr and Mrs Simon de Zoette and representatives of The British Library with many more friends, former colleagues and organisations having connection with Sir Roger Gibbs.

Thanksgiving service: Sir Roger Gibbs

Friday March 15, 2019, in St Paul’s Cathedral

Owner/SourceThe Times
Date16 Mar 2019
Linked toRoger Geoffrey Gibbs

» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 ... 760» Next»     » Slide Show